All Group Reviews

  • Review the Meetup Group. What do you think of Acting Gymnasium - unique weekly acting workshop?

  • “ Had fun attending course organised by Gavin. Received informative and personalised feedback on my pronunciation. Found Gavin to be welcoming and friendly. Thanks Gavin ”

    — Kulziya Nogaibayeva on Feb 10, 2020.

  • “ If Scorsese had a workshop this would be the one to cherish. Golden nuggets from a friend of all Acting varieties with a commonsense approach and strict on what not to do in terms of professionalism. Gavin is someone who I will gladly have around to advise me for years to come. WHAT A FIND..WHAT A GEM!!!! ”

    — Nichola Hartwell on Feb 6, 2020.

  • “ I attended the 'Business of the Acting Industry' workshop and I can't recommend Gavin enough. He will give you tips on how to approach auditioning and stand out within the industry. I feel like there's so much to learn from Gavin, I'm going to check out his Acting Gym next! ”

    — Marta Patay on Jan 14, 2020.

  • “ I found Gavin's group looking for a way to improve elocution and communication skills in English. What I experienced from the first meeting exceeded my expectations vastly. Gavin is an expert of Alexander Technique, the warmup he lead improved intelligibility of my speech and self-confidence instantly, I was feeling relaxed and poised for the rest of the class and afterwards. He remembers every participant's name, listens to individual needs and precisely tailor the exercises to focus on, to make the improvements you desire real. He's encouraging you to go over your boundaries, take new challenges and act as you were at the peak of your abilities -in a relaxed, fun manner. I feel motivated to practice regularly from the day one, as it is a pure joy and the value of this workshop is just incredible. Just to compare, typically the Alexander Technique workshop session is roughly £50-70, a good evening English college is ~£600/week -what you get here is much, much more, worth any money! ”

    — Pawel Mazur on Jan 9, 2020.

  • “ Attended last night’s session (Monday January the 6th, 2020) which both fun and challenging. Plus having attended drama school, there’s always room for improvement. Just because you’ve attended one of the top acting schools, doesn’t mean one’s have arrived, one must keep on training and developing as an performer. With Gavin’s workshops, you’re guaranteed that’ll you’ll be pushed to be better, he doesn’t mess around! ”

    — Jo Robinson on Jan 8, 2020.

  • “ I highly recommend Gavin's workshops whether you are a professional actor or not. You can improve your acting skills, know how to improve an acting career, or just build confidence, have fun and meet a lot of people, everyone is welcome! ”

    — claudia scapin on Sep 18, 2019.

  • “ Gavin works to get the best out of all attendees. If you are a professional actor, or someone who is simply curious he is welcoming to all. The most recent was his "Business of the Acting Industry workshop", which presented practical and realistic advise for anyone who wishes to pursue a career in acting. I highly recommend The Acting Gymnasium workshop sessions. ”

    — Colin J. Foulkes on Sep 11, 2019.

  • “ I thoroughly enjoyed Gavin’s workshop. Some very useful insights into the industry, but also good practical next steps in taking my acting career forward. Would highly recommend, along with the Acting Gymnasium workshop sessions! Also a great opportunity to connect with other actors. ”

    — Ineke Neeson on Sep 11, 2019.

  • “ Attending Gavin's workshops has been insightful, confidence-building and, importantly, very useful and practical. The Business of Acting workshop provided really practical, helpful information to move my career forward and navigate the industry. The weekly Acting Gymnasium classes have been really valuable - Gavin gives insightful feedback and techniques that really help in developing character, building voice and giving a dynamic performance. And they're lots of fun. Highly recommend! ”

    — Sophie Griffin on Sep 10, 2019.

  • “ The workshop was all fun, the atmosphere friendly and safe. Gavin was direct, supportive and funny - just as a mentor should be. ”

    — Katarina Baresic on Sep 8, 2019.

  • “ Gavin is a well-experienced and good professional in his area. In only 2 hours of workshop we could experienced different feelings and challenges, with voice exercises and a little bit of acting. ”

    — Aline Freire on Sep 3, 2019.

  • “ Gavin has mastered the technique of vocal aesthetics and is providing training in what I believe is an essential life skill. If you're ambitious for career progression or self discovery, attendance at one of this acting gym workshops is mandatory. Its fun but challenging. I would do it again merely for the entertainment that Gavin's snazzy twists creates whilst the revolution you're about to embark upon embeds subliminally in your psyche. ”

    — Ance on Sep 3, 2019.

  • “ Gavin works by building individuals up and giving them the confidence they need to succeed in life and the industry. His expertise is clear although he has a huge degree of humility and kindness. I will most definitely be back and I can not wait to be part of a production of his. Thank you Gavin, great energy presence and ultimately a genuine person. ”

    — Marina A on Sep 3, 2019.

  • “ I came to Gavin workshop, the one on diction and pronunciation with expectations that were fully met and exceeded. The drills were very helpful in terms of breath and as a foreign actor it helped me understood where I needed to focus my work on. It was also a lot of fun and I am looking forward the next one. Gavin is a great teacher and I really appreciate his honest and straight to the point approach. ”

    — Mathieu R on Aug 14, 2019.

  • “ Gavin workshops are very well organised, fun yet professional. He has been doing them for years now and I felt his advise and guidelines were fantastic. I love Gavin's individual approach to each of the people working with him. Will come back for more soon. ”

    — Eva on Jul 27, 2019.

  • “ Really useful, great👍🏽 ”

    — Bask Victory on Jul 16, 2019.

  • “ Gavin's workshops are truly one of a kind, you really learn a lot from him, even if you only go for one session! I found the atmosphere very welcoming and encouraging, and have enjoyed meeting other lovely people in this industry through these workshops. The size of the workshops is just right, and Gavin makes sure to give each person their own tailored feedback, which is something I really appreciate. Very highly recommend! ”

    — Cindy M on Jul 10, 2019.

  • “ Lovely workshop. Gavin was professional and friendly. Highly recommended. ”

    — Kwesi on Jul 9, 2019.

  • “ It was an amazing experience. Thank you so much Gavin! ”

    — Joël Hainzl on Jul 9, 2019.

  • “ It was great, I felt really grateful with Gavin for such an amazing experience full of learning and insights within the acting industry, it opens your perspective about how everything work there and how do you need to drive yourself to successfully get involve and get opportunies. Gavin has an excellent knowledge and experience, as a mentor iis honest, direct and brilliant , great. Don’t hesitate to get a spot in the workshop is valuable and marvelous ”

    — natasha fossemo on May 25, 2019.

  • “ Thank you Gavin for all the insights and sharing your knowledge with us. Everyone who is serious about acting I highly recommend to join one of the workshops. The last one I joined covered the business of acting and I can promise you, you will benefit from that. It's honest, precise and answers all the questions you might have. Gavin is also really excellent in encouraging people to take the right steps to get them what they want while also telling the truth about the steps you need to take. One step in the right direction is to stop hesitating, take the next chance possible and see and hear it for yourself. This is gold right here! ;) ”

    — Jamal on May 22, 2019.

  • “ Thank you Gavin for an honest and invaluable lesson on the business of acting. From how to approach agents to how the system works, his behind the scenes knowledge is impressive. ”

    — theo vanderzalm on Apr 30, 2019.

  • “ I was really pleased to attend Gavin's class about the acting business. He has a very straightforward no-frills approach and speaks from his broad experience in the industry. You will get a lot of information during the two hours and will be able to ask any questions you might have. We had also a wide range of people attending the session, at different stages in their careers -- and not only actors. I recall one individual looking more into producing and directing, trying to understand more about what goes on with actors on the casting side. Gavin is very open and provides useful tips throughout the whole conversation. I left the meeting with a long to-do list and was also happy to meet other like-minded people. Highly recommend it. ”

    — Guilherme Luis Muramatsu Pereira on Apr 30, 2019.

  • “ Recently arriving to London, the Business of Acting workshop was exactly what I needed to get insight into the industry and begin my acting journey here. Gavin provides an expansive overview of all the aspects an actor needs to consider and develop to grow in the industry. Gavin is very knowledgable and is available to any questions you may have. I highly recommend this workshop, it is fantastic value. ”

    — Tayla on Apr 30, 2019.

  • “ I highly recommend the business of acting workshop. Gavin manages to cover a lot in the two hours and it’s a reasonable price too. Gavin tells you exactly how the industry works and gives invaluable advice on how to really get your career on the right track. Joanna ”

    — Joanna Pope on Mar 27, 2019.

  • “ The Business of Acting workshop was very helpful. At the end I was able to learn new information that I’ll able to apply to move my career forward. The workshop was structured, he went through each topic in details and Gavin has great knowledge and insight into the industry. I recommend attending more workshop hosted by Gavin as he genuinely care about actors and wants to not only help but to see us succeed. ”

    — Seun Odusanya on Mar 26, 2019.

  • “ The workshop is perfect opportunity for anyone who wants to get insights about acting business. Gavin’s advice and examples will give you all you need in order to know the DO’s and DON’s of this cruel business. More importantly he tells you how you can stand out from the competition crowd. Highly recommended!!! ”

    — Veselin Andreev on Mar 26, 2019.

  • “ I've attended many acting business workshops. This one stands out in a way that it is a well organised, capsule class which leaves you with practical knowledge and ideas of how to network correctly, approach agents and casting directors and build solid industry relationships with them without it being overwhelming. It is also useful if you are trying to move your career forward and navigate the business better. Gavin is professional and approachable. I highly recommend it. Definitely got my money's worth. ”

    — karolina on Mar 26, 2019.

  • “ This workshop was so incredibly helpful , the business of the acting industry was amazing and Gavin gave a very honesty insight to how the industry works. Would definitely recommend this workshop ! ”

    — Georgia Poxelaris on Mar 26, 2019.

  • “ Gavin gave me the critical feedback I needed to improve whilst creating a safe environment to express vulnerabilities and also managing to have fun. The value I got from the workshop far exceeded the extremely affordable price. I want more.... ”

    — Hana Lodhi on Mar 2, 2019.

  • “ This workshop can work two ways: either as the outset of self-improving practice since the tools and a personalised assessment are made available, or as a taster to different practices, one can delve into towards voice quality improvement. Gavin addresses voice quality in a holistic way, from posture and untrained areas of the mouth to psychologically imposed restraints and therefore utilises numerous tools. It's amazing how many different things he can fit in two hours. More importantly, the experience is liberating and joyful. Highly recommended :-) ”

    — Christine Mary Pertsinidi on Feb 26, 2019.

  • “ Gavin helped me to understand on what areas of my voice and diction I need to work on to obtain fluent and clear speech - something which I did not get after 3 years of drama school. Really recommend, and if you are an actor just this one session of 'improve your diction and spoken English' will give you so much to work on! :) ”

    — Anita Szymańska on Feb 26, 2019.

  • “ I attended the "Improve Your Diction and Spoken English through drama" and it truly exceeded my expectations. Gavin is a dedicated acting instructor willing to really help you improve your acting skills. Recommended! ”

    — oriol Fernandez on Feb 26, 2019.

  • “ This was a very useful workshop providing plenty of insight into public speaking. Recommended! ”

    — Mahi on Feb 7, 2019.

  • “ Fantastic workshop to be perfectly honest exceeded my expectations,full incisive look at the acting industry from a producer who has been in the industry for years,Gavin goes through every section thoroughly and provides contacts and up front advice on how to get on and what not to do.-Brilliant stuff ”

    — Chris Freeman on Jan 24, 2019.

  • “ I attended the Business of the Acting Industry and found it an informative and comprehensive guide to getting ahead as an actor. There were useful tips and ideas on how to approach casting directors and auditions with a full list of agents provided. I would recommend this workshop. ”

    — Kath on Jan 22, 2019.

  • “ I've attended the group workshop to improve spoken english through drama. The workshop was amazing and very helpful. Although there were quite a lot of people Gavin still found time for an individual approach and gave great advices on how to get better. Strongly recommend. ”

    — Amalia Felicijan on Jan 15, 2019.

  • “ This workshop is incredible. It’s not only practicing and acting but also getting inspiration, searching for oneself and enjoying the process! Last week I was there for the first time, and it was a nice experience. Gavin created a friendly inclusive atmosphere, and used an individual approach to everyone - impressive! ”

    — Liliya Grechina on Jan 14, 2019.

  • “ Lots of fun! An immersive experience, with a good mix of exercises, practice and specific work on the play. Gavin gives helpful and constructive feedback to bring the best out of people. I was a complete beginner and felt very comfortable in the group. ”

    — Amy on Jan 13, 2019.

  • “ Fun and enjoyable experience. Gavin helps all students to discover and expand their abilities in improv and acting. He also gave tailor-made guidance to individuals. ”

    — Cheuk Ho on Jan 10, 2019.

  • “ Excellent afternoon packed with fun and hilarity! Really impressed by how much attention Gavin gave to each student in the class. ”

    — Leo on Dec 20, 2018.

  • “ I attended the "Business of the Acting Industry" and was very useful information, I think for those who have doubts about the industry, Gavin tells you right away with no bullshit. He is a nice lad and inspiring. ”

    — Victor on Dec 12, 2018.

  • “ “The Business of the Acting Industry” workshop evening is a specialised, comprehensive guided analysis that delivers invaluable industry focused information. Any actor who isn’t satisfied with their professional progression MUST attend this 2 hour class. All the answers to any questions you have are right here, seriously. Just do the workshop. ”

    — Jesse Badger on Dec 11, 2018.

  • “ A really strong insightful strong detailed session. A must for all serious performers. Highly recommend. ”

    — Solomon on Dec 11, 2018.

  • “ A fast-paced no-nonsense practical guide to getting you into a solid acting mindset. Understand the intricacies of the craft from a passionate, experienced tutor. I would not hesitate to take this class. ”

    — Hassen Rasool on Dec 11, 2018.

  • “ The workshop 'Improve your Diction and Spoken English through Drama' was held in very relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Gavin provided very helpful exercises and gave us materials to work on at home. There was also space for individual approach to each of the participants. It was real fun, I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to feel more comfortable with their spoken English. ”

    — Maria Bieniek on Dec 5, 2018.

  • “ The Voice and Diction workshop was absolutely amazing, dynamic and the techniques we were provided to improve our spoken English are quite resourceful also for those who are interested in acting. Highly recommended :) ”

    — Sofia on Dec 4, 2018.

  • “ I attended the "Business of the Acting Industry" workshop last night and it was really helpful for me being given specific details of small things that I would have likely overlooked and not really thought about that could make a big difference to how I approach things in the industry. Its very informative. ”

    — Lawliet Rivers on Sep 4, 2018.

  • “ The business of the Acting Industry is where you need to attend if you're serious about making it in the Acting/ Film industry. Meetings like this usually cost a lot more so you are getting some absolutely must know information for an excellent price. Bring pen and paper and take notes. Very recommended. ”

    — Cristal on Sep 4, 2018.

  • “ The business of the acting industry seminar that Gavin presented was very informative. I think it especially useful for anyone starting out in this industry and could save a lot of needless wasted time and effort. ”

    — Gloria Goncalves on Sep 4, 2018.

  • “ Gavin ,s workshop on business of acting for any aspiring actor is a must Go basis very invformitive . ”

    — mirella Camillo on Sep 4, 2018.

  • “ Loved the diction workshop and look forward to going to more. Gavin teaches at an excellent pace and is very down to earth. I love the way he empowered everyone there on an individual level, myself included - totally awesome. ”

    — Haz ✌ on Jun 26, 2018.

  • “ The workshop on the business of the acting industry was an information gathering event, and Gavin covered all major points of action. I found the event broke all the key elements down into manageable chunks. The event has given me a lot to think about, and refocused my energies into a new direction. Previously, I have been a course junkie to avoid putting my goals into action rather as a procrastination tool. I am looking forward to joining acting gymnasium to take my acting career to the next level. Gavin is honest, and I am sure I will thoroughly enjoy working under his firm and creative direction. ”

    — Louisa on Jun 12, 2018.

  • “ Even if you only attend the workshop once, it is a great experience- skill building and fun. You get the chance to meet many interesting people and Gavin shares all of his experience and knowledge with you, really encouraging. Can only recommend trying it. ”

    — Celine Petersen on Mar 14, 2018.

  • “ It’s a very open and friendly environment. I’ve never done those techniques before and it’s very impressive how it works our voice and diction. Gavin is very accurate listening to each participant’s accent and diction, giving us tips and exercises to improve it. I’d love to do this workshop every week!!! ”

    — Meire Martins on Mar 4, 2018.

  • “ Great class. Very good and effective voice warm-up exercises. Excellent role playing which brought out all intricacies of everyone's speech. Nothing could escape our teacher Gavin's masterful ear. I strongly recommend this workshop to anyone who wants to improve diction; for a native speaker or foreigner. And homework exercises are brilliant as well. ”

    — Amadee on Feb 27, 2018.

  • “ Gavin's workshop is full of really great friendly people who are all passionate about acting. It was a great experience and introduction into acting and also getting to see the more advanced side of things. Gavin is an outstanding acting teacher and really gives you the truth of where your flaws are so you know what you need to work on. I highly recommend this workshop to anyone interested in acting whether you are a beginner or advanced! ”

    — Ian Matthews on Feb 8, 2018.

  • “ Three days after Gavin's workshop I had an important presentation to about 80 investors and made critical changes beforehand based on his input. The organisers responded on day 4: "Well done on an excellent presentation last night. Quite a few people commented that your presentation was great and in some cases the best presentation of the event.” ”

    — Ivo on Feb 8, 2018.

  • “ I have been attending Gavin's workshops for 4 months. Deciding to come to this workshop has been one of the best decisions I have made. Not only am i learning the essential skills required to be a good actor, you also get to have a lot of fun. Gavin is helpful, passionate and knows how to motivate people. You also get to meet so many people of different backgrounds and different life experiences. You won't regret attending. ”

    — Sunil Patel on Jan 15, 2018.

  • “ There is something hypnotic about Gavin's workshops. He not only encourages you to put yourself out there, but he makes you enjoy it. I've seen people opening up, embracing self-expression like never before, smiling boldly. His feedback is always about growing and improving, it never feels diminishing. ”

    — Daiana on Jan 9, 2018.

  • “ I feel lucky to have landed in Gavin's capable hands as he surely knows how to bring out the best in each person, which is extremely encouraging and motivating. His voice workshop was an absolute pleasure to attend. As a complete beginner, I left the workshop inspired, feeling more confident and excited to learn more with Gavin. Thank you for sharing your passion and for being so thoughtful and caring about your students! ”

    — Nadzeya on Jan 9, 2018.

  • “ I have now attended a weekly acting workshop and the Diction workshop and would highly recommend both. Both sessions were great fun, but also informative and challenging. Gavin creates a wonderful supportive atmosphere that feels very safe and allows you to take risks. He is very encouraging and positive whilst challenging you to push yourself a little further. The group is also very supportive, friendly and very diverse. As someone who has been out of acting for some time and somewhat nervous of putting their toe back in the water, I was very relieved to have found this workshop. The Diction Workshop would be useful to both actors and non-actors looking to improve the quality of their speech. Lots of fun and Gavin makes individual diagnosis of the areas each member needs to work on and gives exercises for them to practise at home. Good, sound teaching in a fun and relaxed atmosphere. ”

    — Julie Drake on Jan 9, 2018.

  • “ Awesome workshops with voice, improv and script training! Brilliant coaching, fun people, good atmosphere, it's always a pleasure to attend any of the Acting Gymnasium workshops whether it is to put on a play, work on your diction or learn more about the acting industry from Gavin, who's been part of the industry for a long time and is very knowledgeable and generous with his advice. I strongly recommend! ”

    — Nat Prng on Nov 21, 2017.

  • “ It was a great session! Gavin is very knowledgeable and very commited enjoying what he does. I got personal feedback and now i know which letters i have to practice. ”

    — Ani on Oct 31, 2017.

  • “ Great workshop! The atmosphere is fun and positive and we learn a lot in a little time. It is also bespoke, about you and your accent, while working on your voice and with others! Plus you get personal feedback to work on your own at home so I highly recommend it! ”

    — Camille K. on Oct 17, 2017.

  • “ A fun and productive workshop! I was interested in learning how to express myself better and be more engaging for work presentations. This workshop definitely was an interesting and fun way to learn more about my diction and receive feedback on how to improve it through voice coaching exercises. The final group acting exercise was also very fun and helped me connect with my artistic side which will be also useful to improve business presentations. Highly recommended! ”

    — Sergio on Oct 10, 2017.

  • “ So amazing and funny time. And it was literally brilliant coaching. It will be so great to everyone who want to speak english confidently. I want to get some more Gavin's workshop. It was totally artistic way to learn speaking english. ”

    — Sooh Lee on Oct 10, 2017.

  • “ It's a good test lesson to the potential of working with your voice. Really positive atmosphere. ”

    — michela on Oct 10, 2017.

  • “ Excellent workshop. Brilliant coaching and good practice. ”

    — Alison on Jun 19, 2017.

  • “ Gavin is an amazing acting coach and director. He demonstrates substantial technical knowledge and a creative vision for the scenes. He touches on the issues and gets you to open up with humour and group dynamics. The group itself is dedicated, non-judgemental and welcoming. ”

    — Ben on Jun 8, 2017.

  • “ This was a terrific experience. I've done a few acting workshops and this has been the most professional and organised. The director managed to focus the group using voice and the Alexander Technique and harness the energy getting great results out of the actors. It was also really great fun. I'll definitely be back again. ”

    — James on May 7, 2017.

  • “ This is a really excellent workshop - the activities are really quick, snappy and fun and the director Gavin gives brilliant attention and advice. I really got a lot out of it. I thought it was outstanding!! ”

    — Ellen on May 2, 2017.

  • “ An excellent workshop where actors can keep mentally creative . Sincere and valuable feedback and guidance. Also a lovely natural group of people who are all really keen and prepared to put their whole minds and hearts into the work. I much enjoyed the experience, Gavin and will come when I am able to. Thank you for your expertise . All the best Katannya ”

    — Katannya Alven on Dec 1, 2016.

  • “ A really good evening - great activities which were fun and useful. I look forward to the next one. ”

    — Claire Louise Oliver on Nov 24, 2016.

  • “ we start with games and then to the text, starting with games is a great way to build into the text.. ”

    — franciska on Dec 9, 2015.

  • “ Very professional training for actors leading to a showcase performance. ”

    — Sonja on Sep 10, 2015.

  • “ Great ”

    — jameel caillibot on Feb 14, 2015.

 CONFIDENCE               CREATIVITY           IMAGINATION               PURPOSE                         

© 2013 by The Acting Gymnasium. All photography by Mandy Gasson - website designed by Gavin McAlinden - Proudly created with Wix.com
 

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-googleplus
This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now